60 Years Space Physics Research Laboratory

SPRL at 60

Universities and Space Exploration


Seminar activities will be held in the Lurie Engineering Center (LEC) on North Campus. Download agenda [PDF 54 KB]

Thursday, October 16, 2008

Registration and Continental Breakfast 8:30 to 9:00 am
LEC, Johnson Rooms
Opening Remarks 9:00 to 9:40 am
Provocative Speaker 9:40 to 10:40 am
Lennard Fisk, Former Chair NSSB
Provocative Speaker 11:00 to 12:00 pm
Charles Elachi, JPL Director
Panel #1
National Programs and Missions 1:00 to 2:30 pm
Panel #2
Spaceflight Technology Development 3:00 to 4:30 pm
  • Richard Dissly, Ball Aerospace, Manager Planetary Mission Development
  • George Komar, NASA ESTO Associate Director
  • Jonathan Rall, NASA PIDDP Program Manager
  • Chris Ruf, UM SPRL Director
SPRL Open House5:00 to 6:00 pm
Space Research Building (SRB)
Reception and Banquet 6:00 to 9:30 pm
Tishman Hall Computer Science & Engineering Building (CSE)
For dinner reservations, please contact Linda Chadwick (lchadw@umich).

Friday, October 17, 2008

Continental Breakfast 8:30 to 9:00 am
LEC, Johnson Rooms
Provocative Speaker 9:00 to 10:00 am
Mark Moldwin, UM AOSS
Panel #3
Education and Space Exploration 10:00 to 11:30 am
  • Thomas Cravens, University of Kansas
  • John Crawford, JPL Deputy Manager, Mission Sys
  • Nilton Renno, UM, AOSS
Provocative Speaker 1:00 to 2:00 pm
Steve Battel, Battel Engineering
Panel #4
The Role of Universities in the Space Program 2:00 to 3:30 pm
  • Daniel Baker, CU-B LASP Director
  • George Carignan, SPRL emeritus, former UM SPRL Director
  • Robert Lin, UC-B SSL Director
  • John Vesecky, former UM SPRL Director
Closing Remarks 3:30 to 3:45 pm